Tastes of my childhood

choco

Photo credits:  left / middle / right

The other evening, I ate something that remembered my nice moments of my childhood. One says that smells make our brain yield to hidden memories because the region responsible for smelling capacities is near the one that cares about memories. Since taste and smell are tightly connected, it seems legit that eating something in particular can help us remember a memory our brain associated with.

That is why I thought about the other things I used to eat / drink back to the early years of my life. Here are some examples:

  • Grenadine syrup
    This really sweet drink I used to have at the end of the day at holiday camps
  • Honey in warm milk
    My grand-ma prepared it for me as I couldn’t find sleep in the middle of the night, or as I caught a cold
  • Cacao powder on fresh bred spread with salted butter
    Best “4 heures” ever (I will come back on that later in an other post)
  • Those candies melted in a scallop’s shell (named “roudoudou” in french)
  • Far Breton warmed up in melted (salted) butter…. mmmh!
  • Carambars, those candies that stick to your teeth and that are really sweet (originally it is a strip of caramel, but they adapted it with fruity tastes)

bonbons

Photo credits: left / middle / right

And for you, what are the unforgettable from your childhood?

Leave a Reply

